Movie Review: Bachelorette

20 Jan

I’m not gonna lie; I’ve been very unproductive with my time lately. School has started but the workload hasn’t kicked off yet, and with my new-found obsession with Adam Scott, I thought, ‘you know what I’m going to do? I’m gonna watch every movie Adam Scott’s been in that’s available on Netflix’. So far I’ve gotten through two, and in order to give me the slightest, false sense of productivity, I’ve decided to write a completely random compilation of my thoughts. Note that I’m in no way an experienced reviewer or have the slightest idea of what I’m talking about.

Via wikipedia.org

The first movie I watched is called Bachelorette, and it has quite an all-star cast backing it up. That doesn’t mean, however, that a film will instantly be fantastic. To give it a straight up, numerical rating, I would say the film is 3/5 stars (and that could even be a bit generous). The movie is set up as a fast-paced adventure; a crazy stupid thing leads to a million other crazy things to keep the plot going quickly, and ideally there’d be enough characterization pieced in that by the end everything has been fleshed out and amazingly delivered.

A brief synopsis is that Becky (Rebel Wilson) is getting married, and her three high school friends are a bit jealous that their ‘fat friend’ is getting married before them. After a small attempt at a Bachelorette party in a hotel room goes awry, the three friends Regan (Kirsten Dunst), Katie (Isla Fisher), and Gena (Lizzy Caplan) get high and accidentally rip the bride’s wedding dress. They then spend their night trying to repair it while occasionally interacting with the men at the groom’s Bachelor’s Party. The movie ends with a relatively saved wedding and new-found, or rekindled, romances for each of the girls.

The plot certainly does keep it going, and a lot of crazy things happen one after another, but that isn’t enough to make the movie fantastic. In the beginning we see the three women not reacting very warmly to Becky getting married soon, and it paints the picture that she in the odd one out in the group of ‘popular girls’, as they were all friends in high school. By the end, there is no development on this; we only ever see a friendship between Regan, the perceived head-b* in charge, and Becky. Becky barely even interacts with her other two so-called friends.

The romances that develop are sweet, but again there isn’t enough characterization to make me feel like they were anything other than rushed. The only one that felt a bit more developed was with Katie, the ‘ditz’ of the group, who doesn’t know how to pursue men in non-sexual ways. The guy who has a crush on her refuses to sleep with her while she was high/drunk, because he wants it to mean something. By the end, she agrees to try a relationship in a genuine manner, and they really do seem sweet together.

The romance between Gena and her ex-high school sweetheart (Adam Scott) is a tad messier. Gena got an abortion when she was younger (he was the father), and they ceased contact because he didn’t go with her to the clinic when she needed him. The big dramatic turning point was just that he admitted he was ‘too sad’ to go with her, and then in a fit of passion they have sex. Then at the wedding he admits that he loves her and wants to be with her, and that is their ‘big happy ending’. I’m sure they had much to discuss off screen about real issues and lingering hurt, but the problem with focusing on too many storylines is that you can’t properly focus on all of them. I’m not saying you have to hand things to your viewers, but that’s also not an excuse to under-develop your character’s stories.

The last romance, with Regan, is the most implied and subtle of the three. She has one relatively deep conversation with a guy who is a complete douchebag for the entire movie, and at the end there is a slight possibility that they will date. The guy (James Marsden’s character) is too much of a jerk for one deep thought to redeem his character, and there was definitely not enough time spent on their relationship for me to really care if they eventually get together.

The girls themselves are reasonably fleshed out, but more as archetypes than three-dimensional people. You’ve got a strong leader, a sarcastic rebel, a ditzy party girl, and a bullied, nice ‘fat girl’. They do each come out of their boxes a little, but again, it wasn’t enough for me. I realize I’ve been focusing more on the characters then the overall story, but I think the characters can make or break a movie.

Don’t get me wrong; Bachelorette is funny at times, but also offensive at times, and slightly over-the-top at times. I do think that the actors and actresses do a great job, but the way the story is framed and written is what detracts from that. Overall, I’d say it’s enjoyable if you don’t want to look too hard into it, as long as you promise to not try and take any life-lessons from it. Or if you want to stare at Adam Scott’s face for the, I’d say, 20 minutes he’s on screen. That’s always a good enough reason.

 

Also I realize that this movie is several years old, but as I said this review is kind of selfish in that it’s just a way for me to process my thoughts rather than attract views. But speaking of views, I hit 30,000 views several months ago and kept forgetting to mention it! I can’t thank my followers and even random passerby’s enough, it really is incredible that people have been reading these random thoughts I’ve been peddling out for nearly three, crazy years now. All my love; thank you thank you thank you.

One Response to “Movie Review: Bachelorette”

  1. Thomas January 24, 2014 at 8:39 AM #

    Well-written and detailed review, best friend. I trust in your judgment so I probably wouldn’t watch this movie myself, but perhaps on a mindless kinda night I would or with a few friends when we need a laugh. Congrats on 30K, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

