Insight to Indian Life

13 Mar

This text is brown, just like me.

I’m a teenage girl who was born in the United States from two Indian immigrants. Some immigrants have stories of great accomplishment or terror; my parents have neither and that is something to be thankful for.

I have many things to say on the topic of Indians, so I’m going to limit this as an introduction; not to my culture, but to me. I can understand my parents native language of Hindi, but I choose not to speak it. For one, any accent I may have had has faded, making me sound absolutely ridiculous when I speak. Another is that a lot of people can’t understand what I’m saying anyways, and there may have been a traumatic childhood experience of my grandmother laughing at me when she couldn’t understand a word I was saying. (My grandmother doesn’t speak English). I can’t read or write Hindi but I may slowly learn later.

I eat Indian food almost everyday and I know how to make a decent amount of things. If you gave me flour, water, and yogurt, I could make a full meal, albeit simple.  I love watching Bollywood movies; it annoys me when they’re too corny/silly but it’s always fun. I have many things that I don’t like about Indians, and I also have many things I’m proud of. That can be saved for a later time though.

If anyone happens to be reading this or any of my other posts, let me know by leaving a comment. I would love to hear everyone’s input and opinions about my blog so far. Also, I feel like I should have a little closing catchphrase…the only thing that comes to mind is Natalie Tran’s “Stay well, eat fruit, and remember…” I’ll have to think of something.

8 Responses to “Insight to Indian Life”

  1. lorelai18 September 11, 2011 at 10:07 AM #

    Thank you for this.
    Perhaps you could give a couple of recipe’s? I would be very interested to learn.
    Thanks again, I love your blog.
    x

    • lightningflash2 September 11, 2011 at 2:11 PM #

      Haha, I’m not too much of a chef but maybe I could incorporate some cooking into this blog 🙂

  2. lorelai18 September 16, 2011 at 3:10 PM #

    Yes, but I was just thinking, because I have an expedition coming up, I have to make a meal out of the simplest of ingredients, any ideas?

    Also, have you read Anita and Me by Meera Syal? It’s an interesting story about a little nine year old, from a punjabi village who moved to wolverhampton (with the partition law,) and as well as studying it for GCSE, we are comparing the differences between the cultures, and I’m loving it, as well as learning a bit of Punjabi, which is a beautiful language. Meena, the main character, loves the kinds of meals her mother throws together, but she longs for English things, like fish and chips. I really recommend the book to everyone.

    Thanks again
    x

    • lightningflash2 May 5, 2012 at 3:03 PM #

      Sorry for the late reply, I actually just found this comment. I haven’t heard of the book but it sounds very interesting, I’ll definitely have to look into it!
      By the way, let me know if you still need a recipe; I know your comment was a while ago

  3. Rach January 2, 2012 at 3:13 AM #

    I’m an American college kid travelling to India next week to study abroad there — any insights about Indian culture/food/etc. that you think would be helpful to know for a first-timer? I found your blog by attempting to find another I had seen about Indian culture – I figure I’d just as well ask you for info since I’m young too.
    Thanks!
    Peace,
    Rach

    • lightningflash2 January 2, 2012 at 9:22 AM #

      I think it’s really cool that you’re going to India! I hope you like it there.
      I guess some advice would be, be prepared for a lot of hustle and bustle. The magnitude of people and traffic there can be overwhelming. Also I know that the last time I went, I had to drink extra filtered water and stay away from street food because our immune systems aren’t developed like theirs. I don’t know if you have to get any shots before traveling, but I had to.
      Otherwise, make sure to go sight-seeing because India is a very beautiful country, and try to experience some of the rich culture there!

  4. prashantsinghthakur May 2, 2012 at 1:08 AM #

    We ain’t going to change anything with this comment, right? So, should I not care? Absolutely, NO – I should care ‘cas it is about “me”. Only reason i see is that we have evolved from being peaceful regions, to being colonized, burnt to ashes and rise again. We didn’t have the hunger to conquer the world, or even explore the far shores. We have always learnt to live patient, contained, peaceful, respectful and together.
    That is the reason why we don’t command the international opinion.
    I am still proud of being me. Why I choose not to be like the Chinese or Europeans ? ‘cas I am not arrogant – and on top of the chain !

    • lightningflash2 May 5, 2012 at 3:06 PM #

      I agree, India can be quite a respectable nation even though under-appreciated! Although I’d be careful of calling others arrogant; pride for a nation can easily escalate to prejudice for others.

Leave a Reply

