Brand Names

19 Apr

Via coach.com

That bag pictured above? Yeah, it’s $1,400. It is also made of some poor animal, who was killed just so some rich lady can stuff more expensive things and gadgets into its cleaned up carcass.

What brings people to buy things that they don’t need? I mean, obviously sometimes the high quality of a good is nice, and luxuries never feel bad. But you reach a point where something purchasable goes beyond ‘pampering yourself’ and into ‘you simply do not need this’. It goes back to my post about manicures; people with a lot of money use it in frivolous ways. And like how I mentioned one of my relatives falls victim to that trap, she does to this one too. She buys tons of pointless, expensive things simply because they are brand name items. For my birthday, she gave me a Tiffany’s bracelet. Let me say, of course I appreciate the gift and I do like it. But honestly, I don’t wear much jewelry, and the bracelet is just a boring silver chain with a heart on it (which advertises itself, might I add). Nothing worth $250; it wouldn’t be anywhere near that price if it just hadn’t been made by Tiffany’s.

The same goes for anything. How about clothes? Some plain white shirt, six dollars at Walmart. Make it out of thinner and worse material, put a bird symbol on the top corner, and bam. That Hollister shirt is now 26 bucks. And people don’t care; they lap it up. They’d willingly pay more for the same thing so long as it’s made by a famous company. It’s pretty sad.

It’s equally sad how high name companies use this to their advantage as they squeeze money from willing patrons. They’ll overprice all their items because they know people will pay that much for it.

I can’t really think of a good way to wrap this up; just don’t fall too much into a necessity for brand name items. Sure, they’ll make you feel good; but your wallet isn’t gonna like it.

On a side note, Glee is on today! I’ve been anticipating this for so long; they’ve made me wait more than a month since their last episode! This one better be good >_<

That also makes me consider how long I’ve had this blog; longer than a month, it seems. Wow, that’s crazy. But awesome at the same time since I’m about to hit half a thousand views 🙂 Thanks to all my faithful viewers, I hope to never disappoint you!

6 Responses to “Brand Names”

  1. element119 April 20, 2011 at 3:37 AM #

    I hear you about the whole brand craze, I just don’t get it and the sheer stupidity of the concept meant that a friend had to explain it to me again and again. I even have Levi jeans which someone got me for £80! Is it that necessary?

    • lightningflash2 April 20, 2011 at 9:20 AM #

      Oh yes, I forgot about jeans! They all look the same, and ‘different denim’ can reach up to 200 dollars. It’s ridiculous!
      Thanks for reading and subscribing, I really appreciate it 🙂

  2. The Dubious Seeker July 31, 2011 at 3:06 PM #

    Sometimes it is not only for the sake of the brand name, but the users are famous people. Just because so-and-so was wearing a Dolce and Gabbana dress, people feel the need to do the same for themselves. I don’t think they even do it for self-gratification–it’s another way to get noticed and promote personal affluence.

    Great blog, by the way. 🙂

    • lightningflash2 July 31, 2011 at 8:56 PM #

      That’s true; it’s also unfortunate when people can’t afford or absolutely don’t need the item, but still get it. The world is a superficial place.
      And thank you! I checked out your blog as well; it’s really good!

  3. Shamalamadingdong October 3, 2011 at 7:11 PM #

    Forever. It’s the bandwagon craze and I absolutely hate it. Sometimes these overprice-y stores have “sales” where they still have the nerve to sell their craptastic merchandise for more than we all know it’s worth. Living in New York City, a.k.a. just another fashion central means everyone is obsessed over brands. Plus, Bloomberg not allowing Walmart to set up shop here to ‘protect Mom & Pop shops’ just means that people will willingly fall into the devious hands of overpricing. Not to mention INFLATION and RECESSION all being thrown into the mix. Ah, the world we live in today… so complicated. =(

    • lightningflash2 October 6, 2011 at 5:07 PM #

      I totally agree! Commerce has resulted in some very close-minded and ignorant people now a days.

Leave a Reply

