Curly Girl: After

30 May

So I’ve been doing the Curly Girl Method for…a month? And I am loving the results 🙂

Here’s a quick summary of the Curly Girl method for those who don’t know: Sulfates, which are in most shampoos, strip hair and leave curly hair damaged. But they are necessary to get out silicones found in many conditioners and products. So the Curly Girl Method is simple; no sulfate, no silicone. Only condition your hair (with no silicone!) and it will be happy 🙂 For more details see my Before post: https://curryforyourthoughts.wordpress.com/2011/04/12/the-curly-girl-method/

Anyways, here’s the before picture:

BEFORE

And here’s a plethora of after pictures ^_^ (face blurred cause this be the internet, yo):

AFTER

AFTER

AFTER

So do you think I got good results? Let me know!

Also, here are a few tips learned from experience:

~The pineapple doesn’t really work for me; my hair gets too volumized and poufy. I pretty much just sleep in braids or pony-tails.

~My hair is almost always half-up, half-down. The top-front section of hair gets messed up first, so for me it always looks best to pull that back with a clip or hair tie.

~Leave some conditioner in your hair, and keep your hair products like gel in your shower. I basically put in conditioner, cup some water in my hands and then splash it on my hair. I detangle it completely then I let it sit until I’m about to get out of the shower. Then, I turn my head upside down and turn the water cold, and let it run through for about one second. I turn the water off, scrunch a little with my fingers (it’ll be squishy since the hair is dripping) and then immediantly run gel though it and scrunch. I grab a shirt (or you can use a non-terry towel) and dry by scrunching with the cloth.

~I don’t really use the plopping method.

~Add honey to your conditioner; however you might wanna test this one somehow because it might not work for you, although I don’t know why. Perhaps it could leave your hair feeling sticky ?

Well, that’s it for now! I’d love to hear from other curlies ^_^

11 Responses to “Curly Girl: After”

  1. Tabitha February 24, 2012 at 2:23 PM #

    Hi! I recently started doing the curly girl method. I initially started with a mousse and a cream pomade (both approved by the requests of the CGM), however I started using LA looks sport gel b.c it was strongly recommended by lots of people and the mousse+cream weren’t giving me enough hold. Do you recommend a fifteenth gel I could try?

    • Tabitha February 24, 2012 at 2:31 PM #

      Another** and I forgot to mention that the LA looks gel made my hair very crunchy/wet looking even after attempting to scrunch off the “gel cast”
      Thanks for your help 🙂

    • lightningflash2 February 29, 2012 at 5:02 PM #

      Sometimes I like to use a little less gel and then use another product such as mousse or cream; that way it has enough hold AND it’s not crunchy 🙂
      Another tip is that smart shopping and hair care can go together! I would start browsing sale papers and coupons, and then looking up the brands that are on sale at naturallycurly.com in the product section to see which are CG friendly/have good reviews, and then buy those! Hope this helps

  2. Kristy February 29, 2012 at 12:33 PM #

    Tabitha– I am currently starting out the Curly Girl method– I am using Herbal Essences Totally Twisted Gel (it has one water soluble silicone in it so it is CG approved) and then I follow it up with Aussie Sprunch Spray (also has one water soluble silicone in it) I have curly hair & it appears to last throughout the day– I think I need to start scrunching with a t-shirt prior to applying my gel because I think my hair may be a little too wet. I just started 2 days ago so I am still trying to get used to all of this stuff too 🙂 i even made my own blog– curlygirlmethod.blogspot.com

  3. Sai August 8, 2014 at 6:03 AM #

    hii !
    I wish to try the CG. kindly guide on the following:
    1. Its really difficult to find CG approved conditioners in the stores. Please suggest the exact brand and if possible, the web site from which i can buy it.
    2. do you oil your hair? If yes, how often and how do you remove the oil?

    Thanks and best regards,

    • curryforyourthoughts August 17, 2014 at 9:54 AM #

      Hi! I usually buy all of my hair products at CVS, but I’m sure you can get the following through amazon or various beauty sites. For co-wash I use VO5 conditioners (the really cheap, basic kind) that range from 75-90 cents. For shampoo and conditioner I use L’oreal Eversleek products; you have to be careful with these though because while all the shampoos in this line are sulfate-free, not all the conditioners are silicone free. That’s why I stick with Eversleek, the dark orange bottles; just use naturallycurly.com and read the labels to be sure which ones you can use!
      Also, I don’t oil my hair; but I’m sure that if you looked up oils that are silicone free, you’d be able to find at least one through naturallycurly (in their products section).
      Best of luck with your CG journey!

      • Saiv August 17, 2014 at 3:09 PM #

        Hey… Thanks. In India we can buy those big bottles of sauve n VO5 for around 1200 to 1500 INR. Bit costly for trial n error tests. Further, all the loreal products launched here have sulfates or silicone in them. Even Johnson’s baby shampoo has SLS. I have started with Enliven conditioner every alternate day co-washing. Enliven has no sulfate or silicons. I use it for co-washing, conditioning n as leave in as well. 2 washes till date but no good results at all. I have frizzy dry greasy hair n dry scalp. Very annoying. Am I going wrong anywhere? Can you figure of any possible flaws? N yes, how often do u co-wash? I find this every alternate day routine is very time consuming n I might catch cold.
        Please help.
        Please help

      • curryforyourthoughts August 17, 2014 at 9:11 PM #

        If the Enliven conditioner is the only product you can find that is silicone and sulfate free, I would recommend looking online and picking some products that have the best reviews; that way, it won’t just be products that work for me, but products that work for a majority of people. I would say co-wash and condition your hair every time you wash it, and try not to wash your hair more than 3-4 times a week. When you co-wash, make sure you work the conditioner onto your scalp and rub thoroughly with your fingers; basically give yourself a head massage with the conditioner. Also, it takes your hair about a week to adjust to the routine, so I would recommend waiting it out and if it still doesn’t work after 3-4 weeks, try either different products or not doing CG.

      • Saiv August 17, 2014 at 11:46 PM #

        Thanks for the prompt response. I will order online. Best regards,

      • Saiv August 18, 2014 at 2:39 AM #

        Hey.. Other queries:
        1. On day 2 after washing I.e. on the off days the upper front is really dry whereas the length of hair looks okay comparatively. Do we need to apply leave in to the roots?
        2. When do you wash hair -in the day time or night?
        3. I have also read about adding honey to conditioner. Have you tried it? The post is silent about its results.
        Please share your experience.
        Thanks for being there to help.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Curly Girl Method « curryforyourthoughts - February 19, 2012

    […] is my ‘After’ post! https://curryforyourthoughts.wordpress.com/2011/05/30/curly-girl-after/*** Share this:EmailFacebookDiggRedditStumbleUponTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

