Teenagers Annoy Me

25 Aug

Hypocritical, I know. I AM a teenager. But seriously, sometimes my generation gets me very bothered. (For example, after the East coast earthquake EVERY persons status was a variation of “ahhh, earthquake!” It’s like, thank you, I really needed to hear that from each and every one of you to understand the seriousness >.>)

funny facebook fails - Annoying Facebook Girl: East Coast Quake Edition

 

 

Anyways, what’s bothering me at the moment is how everyone liked the earthquake; everyone wants disaster to strike. They’re excited about it! One friend who I will not name: “I hope the hurricane destroys the school!”

Okay, no. There are so many problems with that. I get the idea; school gets delayed, vacation guys! Woohoo! But seriously, we’re not in elementary school. Start using your head. What if there were workers inside the building? Do you have any idea how much the repair for damages could cost? We live in one of the richest counties in the COUNTRY; we are lucky. If it got destroyed, they would find a way to still make us have an education, and they’d most likely build a much worse school to get us learning faster. Then we’d have a terrible school with no resources, zapped funds, and raised taxes for the county, even for your parents. Devastation isn’t fun and games.

Another friend: “We never have earthquakes or hurricanes though! I wish there were more! Isn’t it so exciting?” No, I answered her. Potential injuries, losses counting up to millions of dollars, and even deaths are exciting? Looking back, yes, the earthquake was exciting. But it was only exciting because there was barely any damage or injuries. We can’t be lucky like that every time; stop wishing potential danger on our heads just so you can say you’ve experienced a natural disaster!

 

Ending note: I can be stupid. I can be immature. And this blog post probably makes me sound like a prude to anyone I’ve addressed or many people my age. But even I can say that when nature’s pointing a gun at your head, playing Russian Roulette, grow up and stop smiling at it.

9 Responses to “Teenagers Annoy Me”

  1. Thomas August 26, 2011 at 7:41 AM #

    Agreed! You know how it is with us adolescents, sometimes we say things that we don’t really mean, like when someone says “that’s so gay” or something like that. The recent earthquake exemplifies our inability to look beyond the excitement it provided and see the real danger we were in. However, I’m sure that if those people you mentioned (the ones who didn’t think before saying stupid stuff) read this post, they would shake their heads and realize how ignorant they were being.

    Please post more before summer ends! (:

    • lightningflash2 August 26, 2011 at 8:35 AM #

      I’ve showed it to both of them, still waiting for a response from one. Hint! You know them and their names start with S 🙂
      And ehh…I post when I have something to post about. I’m not gonna force some topic just to have consistency…

      • Thomas August 26, 2011 at 8:52 AM #

        Oh… okay, I have a good idea of who they are. And that’s cool, I was assuming you did have stuff to post about so if not that’s understandable. I should work on that APUSH assignment instead of blogging, ha…

  2. Odd Omission August 27, 2011 at 4:32 PM #

    Haha when I first read the title, I thought you were just some old person who was complaining about this generation. But I can totally relate to you considering I’m a teenager who feels distaste towards other teenagers. It’s as if no one is sane these days!

    It’s really humid where I am and I can’t think in this heat so I can’t really think anymore, sorry.

    • lightningflash2 August 27, 2011 at 11:06 PM #

      Haha, you’d think, huh! Guess I can just be a cranky old person at times 😉
      I’m glad you agree, and thanks for the comment! Hope your weather gets better!

  3. teenstalk2teens August 28, 2011 at 2:27 PM #

    Totally agree! I wanted to delete my Facebook after the earthquake…I’m assuming you’re from the East Coast (me too!) and I really want some of my friends to move to California or Florida or Louisiana where they’ve experienced REAL natural disasters. great post and love the blog 🙂
    to thomas, i like what you said too! people throw around slurs and offensive things way too easily, especially teenagers. my dad sometimes says that something is “faggy”, and he’s gay! but our society is so used to using offensive words as misnomers that even he uses them sometimes. crazy, crazy world…

    • lightningflash2 August 29, 2011 at 4:56 PM #

      I am from the East Coast; and I know! People tend to over-react at little things
      Wow, that’s surprising about your dad! I hope he stops using slurs that are even against himself. And thanks for reading and for the comment! Your blog looks very enticing, I’ll have to check it out 🙂

  4. element119 September 4, 2011 at 8:57 AM #

    The sad thing is…all of these disasters ARE exciting. Why do newspapers and media corporations sell? Well because of all of these things. Even if we do detest them…people find it exciting and/or interesting.

    • lightningflash2 September 5, 2011 at 10:46 AM #

      Yes but the word “exciting” implies a positive connotation. I know it may be exhilarating perhaps, in a worried and interested kind of way. That’s understandable; but it is worrying when people are genuinely a happy sort of excited :/

Leave a Reply

