The Hunger Games

1 Feb

I read the Hunger Games (the first book at least) about two years ago. It’s hard to not fall in love; the tragic story-lines, pulling suspense, and bittersweet romance are all blended perfectly in this dramatic book. And now there’s a movie coming out in a couple of months! Many fans are concerned with whether the movie will live up to the fans expectations; Hollywood seems to have a tendency to ruin things. But does it really? The magical thing about books is that the words the author gives you are the tools for your imagination. There’s no way a movie can live up to your expectations because every reader has created, and essentially read, a different story. The best a movie can do is to simply try to create a general “blanket” of a movie that covers as many peoples visions as possible.

Despite what you’ve imagined for the appearance or the mannerisms of each character, the cast has been chosen and can’t please everyone. It’s best to take what they give us and accept that whatever you see on the screen will not change the book in any way. Treat the movie as an enhancement to the book; the best it can do is deliver the same emotions experienced by the readers in a visually and audibly tangible way. Speaking of audio, who else has already experienced numerous emotions  just by listening to Taylor Swift’s new song “Safe and Sound”? It’s so haunting and soft and tragic! This song can give me chills and tears. I may have already listened to it 15 times…

I know that the movie won’t be perfect because that would be impossible. And yet I am filled with excitement and anxiousness as I await the release of the movie. I simply cannot wait! Even the trailer gave me goosebumps, which gives me hope for the movie. Just thinking about all the ways they can pair anguishing scenes with powerful music moves me. For lack of a better term, I hope the movie is ‘epic’.

3 Responses to “The Hunger Games”

  1. Thomas February 1, 2012 at 5:52 PM #

    You took the words right out of my spleen! I mean, mouth. Anyway, I think you nailed it with your explanation of why people shouldn’t castigate the movie version of The Hunger Games too harshly – like you said, it’s impossible for any movie to live up to the standard the book has created. I would continue, but then I’d just be reiterating your entire post. (:

    PS: Have you considered linking your Twitter to your blog? That way people could get updates of this blog via Twitter and vice versa.

    • lightningflash2 February 1, 2012 at 5:54 PM #

      I don’t know how to 😦
      but thank you for the kind words!

      • Thomas February 1, 2012 at 6:05 PM #

        Do not fret young grasshopper, I will guide you.

Leave a Reply

